Skip to content

We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Discipline

October 17, 2010

I have a deadline coming up. A dear-god-I-have-to-write-30k-words-in-one-month deadline. And life has not been cooperating.

Don’t worry, I’ll buckle down and do it.

First, though, let’s talk about all the things I am could be doing instead of writing.

1. Blogging. Okay, moving on.

2. Shoe shopping. There is always an amazing pair of heels to be found online if one cares to spend hours a little time searching.

3. Taking my roommate to the ER…repeatedly. Seriously, they need to start handing out punchcards. 11th visit free! 15th visit complete with private suite, masseuse and gourmet chef!

4. Getting the oil changed on my car. Not that I was, say 2000 or so miles overdue or anything like that.

5. Watching Farscape. Hey, the way I see it, it’s a study in character driven storylines.

6. Working. HA! Now you have to eat that slacker comment that you were planning. I haven’t missed any deadlines at work.

7. Fighting off the bubonic plague. So, maybe it’s not the black death, but it took out enough of my friends and coworkers–even me for a bit. I *gasp* lost my voice for a couple of days…and there was much rejoicing. Not that it was done to my face, but  I know it was done.

8. Taking my roommate BACK to the ER.

9. Tweeting. Conversing with the writing community and networking.

10. Reading The Hunger Games. My birthday present from my sister.

11. Running out to buy Catching Fire and Mockingjay the day after I finished The Hunger Games.

12. Reading Catching Fire and Mockingjay in the same weekend as purchased.

13. Sitting around plotting how in the world I can one day write as good as Suzanne Collins. And wondering what I would do if I was put into The Hunger Games.

14. Stockpiling food because I couldn’t bring myself to hunt bunnies.

15. Did I already mention shoe shopping?

16. And now that I’m on 16 and feeling guilty, I think I’ll go get some writing done. No matter how productive I feel after cleaning the entire house…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 5:10 am

    Slacker! (yeah, I went there.) It sounds like you need a vacation but, where else can you have this much fun for free?

  2. Kelley Marie Mitchell permalink
    October 18, 2010 11:02 am

    LOL! I always look forward to your blog posts.

  3. October 22, 2010 4:55 am

    Nice! 🙂

    Now go write.

Leave a Reply

