Skip to content

34 of a few of my favorite things…

September 21, 2010

I just turned 34. No really, just. Like 28 minutes ago. 33 was a crazy but good year, so I’d like to start things off right by listing 34 of a few of my favorite things. (You’re welcome for the earworm–I’m all about sharing.)

1. Red Ropes. I used to get them for $.50 at the Rec Center where we’d go to skate and slide the Super Slide. Everyone else went for the Now ‘N Laters, but those always tasted like sun-dried Play-doh to me. OOH…Play-doh!

2. Mini-golf. Yet another one of the awesomesauce things about the Rec Center. It was there I learned of my complete absence of finesse. Ever heard FORE while playing mini-golf? Then you’ve never played with me. Although, I know nothing about the red golf ball knocked over the fence and into traffic on HWY 99. NOTHING. I mean, really, who’s genius idea was it to EVER put a CLUB in MY hands?

3. I have to pee. No, that’s not one of my favorite things, but what do you expect at this time in the morning when I’m going with stream of consciousness writing. Oh no, I said stream. Yeah, I’m only at 3 and it’s already going downhill.

4. Eminem’s Love the Way You Lie. It’s the chorus sung by Rihanna that gets me. Or the cathartic nature of the song. Either way, I’m addicted. Don’t worry, by the end of the week I’ll be sick of it. Okay, okay, end of the month.

5. The fact that one of my three-year-old cats has JUST NOW started kneading. He never did it before, although his brother does. I think they pulled some kind of Kitty Freaky Friday. Where’s Jodi Foster when you need her?

6. Standing on my own and being able to breathe. Freedom. That was the theme of my 33rd year. I have a true understanding of what makes life wonderful now.

7. Me. No, that wasn’t an admission of narcissism. I’m starting to really like who I am. Although, the other voices in my head voted and decided that I really am too modest for my own good.

8. When I thought of the idea for this post, I honestly thought it would be easier than it is. I’m blaming lack of sleep and not lack of gratitude. That and I really don’t want to become overly sappy for fear of bringing on a case of self-induced sugar shock nausea.

9. The Boondock Saints. I haven’t gotten up the nerve to watch part 2 yet, but I LOVE the first one. Smart, funny and chock full of vigilante justice!

10. Explosions. Calm down, I haven’t actually created one in 24 years…oh wow, I’m waaaaaaaayyyy overdue…

11. The cat purring in my lap right now. I’ve always thought a cat’s purr is one of the most amazing sounds in the world. The claws in my hip as he kneads…not so much.

12. How hard my boyfriend makes me laugh. If laughter is the best medicine and keeps you young, then he’s probably added 10 years to my life.

13. My nephews. They are so smart, creative and unintentionally funny. I miss playing Pokemon and Mario with them. Although Daredevil better watch out because I haven’t forgotten how many times he knocked me into the lava.

14. My friend Pauline’s daughter, Buttercup. She is such a doll–so is her mama. Who else would raise a three-year-old who loudly proclaims our Olive Garden waiter to be a “big, goofy guy”? No, if I had a child the words would have be laced with sarcasm instead of unbearable cuteness.

15. Mint Moose Tracks ice cream. Pure sin in spoonable form.

16. My grandma’s molasses cookies.

17. My grandpa’s chocolate chip cookies. I once asked him for the recipe, expecting to discover some secret ingredient that made them taste so much better than mine. Nope, exact same as the Nestle Toll House one I used. I never got the secret out of him before he died.

18. Steak. Medium rare. In fact, just walk the cow through a warm room and put it on a plate for me. And whatever happened to parsley? Did it become more expensive than kale?

19. Notebooks! I probably have so many I’ll never be able to use them all, but I keep buying more. It’s a sickness, but one I am perfectly fine with.

20. Pens. You can’t have all those really cool notebooks and not have AMAZING pens to write in them. My favorite are the rollerball ones. The only type of pen I’ve never owned is an honest-to-god fountain pen. Well…it is my birthday…

21. Heels. Let me be more specific before you all think I’m some kind of weirdo. HIGH heels…as in stilettos. I almost feel funny wearing flats now. Maybe I should forgo the fountain pen in lieu of a pair of birthday heels. I think THESE will do nicely. Oh…wait….YES!!

22. Blog post? I don’t have time for a stinkin’ blog post. I have shoe shopping to do!

23. The Fifth Element. Multi-pass.

24. Gummy bears. Not the show, the candy. And not the crappy, store brand either. Only Haribo Gold-Bears for this girl. Yeah, so I’m snooty about gummy bears. Sue me. I like to bite their heads off while making the rest of the bag watch so they know their fate. This post has been edited for content.

25. The way my roommate Jinx moves her fingers when she talks. Never question that this woman is Italian.

26. FARSCAPE. Just recently was introduced to this amazing series. Wow. Just wow.

27. Music. Nothing moves me quite as much as music. I’ve always related to life through this medium. Although, I’ve found that many of the songs I used to listen to in order to just make it through aren’t as poignant anymore. That’s a good thing.

28. Love. The kind that sets you free and makes you look in the mirror and like what you see. The kind that completes you and makes you whole in ways you’d only ever imagined was possible. The kind that takes your breath away. The kind that makes people who haven’t seen you in a while comment on the glow you have. I found that kind of love in my 33rd year and I can’t wait to see what it brings me in my 34th.

29. Sleeping in. No, this isn’t new so stop with the old lady jokes.

30. The puppet shows my sister used to put on for me when we were kids. She would hide behind the headboard while I sat on her canopy bed and use our puppets and stuffed animals. One of my favorite memories from my childhood.

31. Cereal. On that note, any breakfast food like pancakes and waffles. Perfect to eat anytime. Great, now I want IHOP.

32. Reading. I love being carried away into another world. My favorite books are too numerous to list, but before I started writing again I used to read the Harry Potter and Sword of Shannara series once a year. Now, I barely have time to craft my own stories let alone read. Maybe I should make a Birthday Resolution. Yeah, because I see THAT working.

33. Muscle cars. My favorite being the 1970 Chevelle SS. One day, that car will be mine. Oh yes, it will. And I’ll drop a 580 in that bad boy…and then hit you all up for bail/bribe money.

34. Watching the outpouring of the online writing community for things like Skip A Starbucks Day and SPEAKloudly. Restores my faith in humanity. All of you I’ve met through Twitter and blogging, I appreciate having you in my life…at a distance, but still. Especially you, Shawna and Crystal.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 10:23 am

    Great stuff. I so relate to the notebooks and pens issue. Thanks for the earworm too.

  2. September 21, 2010 8:59 pm

    Yay! I love the post that was edited for content. Bwahahaha! Death to Gummies!

    Happy birthday to you. Happy birthday to you. You’re an awesome sister. And you smell like one too.

    I hope.

    I don’t actually know since I’m not downwind at the moment.

  3. Shawna permalink
    September 21, 2010 9:52 pm

    I love you too, Sweetie. HAPPY Happy BIRTHDAY!!!!

  4. September 23, 2010 1:42 pm

    happy birthday, babe i hope 34 brings you all the happiness you deserve and i love that buttercup is one if your favorite things. you are one of her favorite things, too. All the way 🙂

  5. September 24, 2010 10:20 pm

    AWE! Iz feel special.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    And I’m a hardcore farscape fan! You’re gonna love it.

  6. September 25, 2010 12:13 am

    Haha! Yep, I’m definitely Italian. I can’t help but talk with my hands. It’s kind of like those Italian eraser phrases…”I don’t mean this in a bad way, but…” And yes, I do say those too.

    Happy Birthday, sis. I love ya, and we WILL be going to see Resident Evil: Afterlife soon!

    And yes, I know this comment is a few days late, but you know how drugged up I’ve been. LOL

    • September 27, 2010 11:34 pm

      You got the Special Ed Monkey Jam Stain. The Unicorn Booger now has a side kick.

  7. September 25, 2010 12:14 am

    And that is correct, I didn’t feel like logging in to post that comment. BTW, WTF is that thing in my avatar anyway? LOL

Leave a Reply

