Skip to content

A moment in time with Jesse…Character Interview Blogfest

June 15, 2010

[tweetmeme source=”HC_Palmquist” service=”tinyurl.com”]

I recently took a few hours out of my afternoon to participate in Sangu Mandanna’s Character Interview Blogfest and sit down with one of my characters, Jesse Brooks from Lost in Destiny and talk to her about, well, her.

HC: Thanks for coming, Jesse. I’m glad you could spare some time for me.

Jesse: *smiles and raises her eyebrows* Funny, usually I’m the one saying that to you.

HC: Great, you’re going to start in on me too, huh? Okay, missy, why don’t you start by telling me about where you come from. What are your parents like?

Jesse: *snorts* You mean the father I know nothing about except that I have his lilac eyes? Or mother, the oh-so-nurturing gold digger who would sooner trade me in for ANY child who would increase her chances of landing the her next rich husband? I have no idea how I even came to be, to be honest. I can’t imagine mother loving anyone enough to have a child with him, let alone allowing her perfect body to be ruined.  I mean, she doesn’t even go after him for child support, so he must be dead, because I KNOW she wouldn’t have been with a poor man. Although, I do like asking mother about him because I know it really flusters her and it’s not often I can accomplish more than just annoying her.

HC: That sounds sad, actually. *checks pages* Um…I’m sorry.

Jesse: *laughs* Yeah, I guess you are to blame, but no worries. I like the independence I have. Other girls at my high school have their parents looking over their shoulders constantly. Mother’s only concern is me keeping my mouth shut in front of her latest boyfriend–number nine I think we’re on–so she prefers me to be out of sight.

HC: You mentioned high school. How’s that going for you?

Jesse: Considering I haven’t had much time to spend there lately, I’m thinking not too well. Then again, my chemistry teacher is probably giving me a passing grade for being absent…I tend to cause a mess. I wonder if they’ll give me extra credit if I write an essay on what the Wild West is really like.

HC: I won’t ask you to elaborate on the mess, as I can only imagine. Why have you been missing so much school?

Jesse: *chews on bottom lip* Honestly, I don’t even know if I’ve been missing it. I guess I came back to the exact same point, so I haven’t even checked yet. But really, it’s on the top of my list of things to do. Right up there with seeing mother and going to the dentist.

HC: Came back? Care to explain?

Jesse: *leans forward a bit and frowns* I know this sounds crazy, believe me I thought it was a hallucination until I woke up the next morning still there, but I was sucked into 1861 through a book.

HC: That sounds really cool, actually!

Jesse: You would say that.

HC: *clears throat* Yes, well, it was one of my better ideas.

Jesse: One of your better ideas that put me through all kinds of confusion and hell, thanks. But, I did get to meet a really cute sheriff and walk through the streets of Silver City when it was fairly new. Oh! And I brought back this brand new Colt Revolver. Tell me that’s not the prettiest thing you’ve ever seen.

HC: You’re a history buff, then?

Jesse: Buff? I’m straight up nerd. Which was wickedly helpful when finding myself back in time nearly 150 years. Not so much in dealing with the vampires though.

HC: Vampires? Sounds like a good time.

Jesse: Remind me to write a book and kill you off in it. Look, I need to go. Things aren’t exactly safe for me right now.

HC: Of course. Thank you for stopping in and talking with me.

Jesse: You’re welcome. Oh, and thanks…for Isaiah. Really.

I watch her leave and sigh. That poor girl has been through so much already, and she has no idea what’s about to happen.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 9:39 pm

    Lol, love it! You are an excellent writer.

  2. June 15, 2010 9:47 pm

    This really made me want to read your novel. Such a great entry!! Thank you for sharing!

    ❤ Kelsey Leigh

  3. Ashelynn Sanford permalink
    June 15, 2010 10:13 pm

    Jesse and I are SO much alike. History nerds, we are. *g*

    Great interview – I love it, and um, when can I have chapter three? I worked hard on Secrets today, I really did. 1,200 words written! *sheepish grin* *polishes halo* Please?

  4. June 15, 2010 10:23 pm

    LMAO! OMG. My dad totally only passed his HS History class cuz he NEVER went to it after the first day! 😀 Awesome interview!

  5. NL Gervasio permalink
    June 15, 2010 10:53 pm

    Awesome interview with Jesse. Love her. She’s a great character.

  6. June 16, 2010 5:42 am

    This did such a good job of giving me information while also telling me so much about the character! I’m really intrigued by Jesse and by your story, well done!

    Thanks for participating!

  7. June 16, 2010 7:34 am

    lol

    So…. You’re writing today, no? *taps foot*

  8. June 16, 2010 11:48 pm

    You have an award on our blog!

    ❤ Kelsey Leigh

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A moment in time with Jesse…Character Interview Blogfest « Wanton Acts of Writing -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

