Skip to content

Sam the Cat Interviews Author Kait Nolan

May 10, 2010

I had the unique privilege to be one of the first beta readers when author Kait Nolan first started her Forsaken by Shadow novella. So it is with great excitement I agreed to be part of her blog tour.

My excitement was shared by none other than Sam the Cat. He begged and whined and meowed to be allowed to interview her. Tired of waking up to his face shoved in front of mine with that pleading look in his eyes, I finally relented.

I bring you Sam the Cat in his very first interview.

Sam the Cat

Kait Nolan


Everyone clear on who’s who? (Hint: Kait is the one without the fur and the can I haz cheeseburger look on her face…well, it’s not really her since she decided her book cover was too awesome and needed to be used as the photo instead.) Great, now we begin.

Here’s a quick look at Forsaken By Shadow:

Cade Shepherd is on top of the world as this year’s Ultimate Fighting Champion. He doesn’t even remember his life as Gage Dempsey, a Shadow Walker with the ability to magically transport himself from shadow to shadow. In fact, he can’t remember anything before waking up in a cheap motel room ten years ago with mysterious burns on his hands–not even the woman he almost died for.

Embry Hollister has picked up the pieces of her life, learned to control her ability to generate flame, and now works an enforcer for the Council of Races. But when her father is captured by the human military and the Council refuses mount a rescue mission, Embry has no choice but to go rogue. All she has to is find the man with the new name and new life who was completely wronged by her people, give him back the memories they stole, convince him to join her on what’s probably a suicide mission, and hope that after ten years of living as a regular guy he still remembers what her father taught him.

And after that, she just has to leave him. Again.

Sam the Cat: Hi! I’z Sam. Can I haz treats?

Kait: You are adorable, ergo you may have treats.  That is the rule in our house.  :hands over open can of tuna:

Sam the Cat: NOM! NOM! You gots kittehs in your story?

Kait: Well, there is a kitty shifter in the end, I think, but mostly no.  I will haz kitties in later stories though.

Sam the Cat: EEK!!! Shifting kittehs is scary! Your hero shadow jumps. I likes to jump out at my brother Max from the shadows. Can he teachez me to shadow jump?

Kait: Well, part of Gage’s problem is that he can’t remember how to shadow walk.  He doesn’t get his skills back until much later in the story.  His mentor Adan might be able to help you out, but only if you were born with the knack of controlling shadows.

Sam the Cat: Oh. I’z born in the wild…maybe that countz? My favorite thing’z dryer lint. Typing is hard. Embry haz fire. I likes to sniff lit candles. What’s your favorite fish?

Kait: My favorite fish is haddock, breaded and fried in the traditional British pub method.  With chips.   Mmmm.

Sam the Cat: Chips? Do I’z like chips? Hey, Max, do we likez chips? Lots of fighting and stuffs goes on. I fights with Max all the times. And meow. I lovez meowing. Why does Embry leaves Gage? Does he meow too loud?

Kait: Well she thought he was dead ten years ago.  She spent a long time very, very sad.  Then she found out he was still alive and went to find him. She planned to leave him again because she thought he would be safer away from her.

Sam the Cat: I don’t likes it when mom leaves. I’z a ninja kitty. No, not reallyz….but I’z stealthy. Are you stealthyz? Most stealthyz youz ever been?

Kait: In general I iz not stealthy at all.  I iz klutzy to the extreme.  My husband iz the stealthy one.  He iz sneaky.  He thinks it iz fun to sneak up and startle me.

Sam the Cat: Ooh! Max sneaks up on mom in the dark and trips her. I bites Max a lot. Haz you ever bittens someone?

Kait: I haz threatened from time to time when hubby misbehaves.  Iz the most effective way to make sure he iz good.  I did hit a guy in the head with my metal Care Bear lunchbox in the first grade, though.  He wouldn’t leave me alone…  He did after that.  Except he retaliated on the last day of school and gave me chicken pox.

Sam the Cat: Mmm…chicken….’scuse me, I haz to be in other room. Right now!!! *runs off*

Thanks to Kait for being interviewed by Sam the Cat. To purchase Forsaken By Shadow, go to Scribd, Smashwords, Amazon and the iBookstore. It is the first in the Mirus series. Catch up with Kait at her regular haunts:

Kait’s Writing Blog: Shadow and Fang

Kait’s Cooking Blog: Plots and Pots

Follow Kait on Twitter

Friend Kait on Facebook

Become a fan of Kait on Goodreads


9 Comments leave one →
  1. cjredwine permalink
    May 10, 2010 8:11 pm

    Awesome interview. And the novella sounds like it rocks. 🙂

    *sigh*

    I’m going to post this and find out I’m a unicorn booger again, aren’t I?

  2. cjredwine permalink
    May 10, 2010 8:12 pm

    Aaaaaannnnd there it is.

    Unicorn. Booger. With jelly donut fetish. And an appalling lack of napkins.

    So awesome.

    • Kait Nolan permalink
      May 11, 2010 5:40 am

      CJ I am afraid to ask about the Unicorn Booger…Oh…the gravatar. Yeah you’re right. Totally the unicorn booger.

    • May 12, 2010 12:03 am

      You do realize you steal every one of my blog posts with your comments, right. I know, as it should be.

      • cjredwine permalink
        May 12, 2010 5:00 am

        *stuffs this blog post in her pocket and whistles innocently*

        No one can withstand the terrible force that is SUPERUNIBOOGER!

  3. May 15, 2010 9:51 am

    What a great interview! I want to be interviewed by Sam too – and my own cat Sam can join in. Plus. I’ve even got a cat in my novel 🙂

  4. June 1, 2010 2:18 pm

    What a great interview! I want to be interviewed by Sam too – and my own cat Sam can join in. Plus. I’ve even got a cat in my novel
    +1

Trackbacks

  1. | Kait Nolan

Leave a Reply

